Song to confess your feelings with violent solemnity

Down on the piano farm

Down on the piano farm

My cousin got married a little over a week ago. At the reception, she surprised her new hub-sauce and the rest of the party by grabbing the mike and singing Ingrid Michaelson’s “The Way I Am.” Maybe it was all the wine I had ingested at that point, but I thought it was really sweet, like almost-made-me-teary-eyed-sweet to see such a bold statement of someone else’s devotion. Yucky, right?

Of course, it made me think about the song I could belt out to my newly-wedded, should that event ever happen. I would glide to the front of the room (in my nuptial fantasies, I’m also a swan, apparently), groomed to a degree of perfection that I probably won’t see again until my funeral. Friends, family, and random attendants in chiffon would politely raise their eyes. Then thanks to the brain of Neko Case, I’d sing “This Tornado Loves You.” With lyrics like “I left them motherless, fatherless, their souls dangling inside out from their mouths but it’s never enough. I want you,” how could my partner in holy-moly matrimony ever doubt my love? My captive audience may question the appropriateness of my song choice, my taste level with respect to my old aunts, maybe my sanity. But as long as the person I’ve married understands and appreciates my song selection, I think it’ll be OK. Plus, everyone gets cake and free booze.

  • Neko Case ~ Middle Cyclone ~ Anti-

This Tornado Loves You

3 Responses to “Song to confess your feelings with violent solemnity”


  1. 1 Danielle March 11, 2009 at 3:10 AM

    Hehe! Swan-Bride Kimmy Kims! I LOVE IT.

    Also, I was watching this short video on Amazon about the making of Middle Cyclone, and (because I’m a turd and always try to read into lyrics, this wasn’t clear to me) apparently “This Tornado Loves You” is actually about what it might be like if a tornado could actually love someone.

    Also, she said that they got a TON of free pianos that people were going to toss for the recording (hence the pic), and they recorded in a barn, hence the echo-ey sound. And there were frogs.

    Anyway, you probably already know this crap, so sorry for repeating it….

  2. 2 oldvertue0103 March 11, 2009 at 7:14 PM

    Wow, I did not know the song is meant to be from the perspective of an actual tornado. That makes it so much cooler, somehow.

    If you want, I have the copy of Paste magazine that features her on the cover and does a pretty long write-up about her new recording area and a little bit about the new album.

  3. 3 Danielle March 12, 2009 at 6:45 PM

    Yeah, right? Here’s the Amazon link if you want to watch the video: http://www.amazon.com/Middle-Cyclone-Neko-Case/dp/B001MWGZDG/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1236883489&sr=8-1
    It’s under “Check out related media.”

    And yes, I’d love to read the Paste article. Thanks!!


Leave a Reply

