I can wonder what happened to all the bands from the 90’s

I think everybody in the 90's had this haircut at one point or another.

I think everybody in the 90's had this haircut at one point or another.

It appears I am destined to dissect all alternative music references in that Mary Lou Lord song until there are none left. I did it here. And I must do it once more with the knowledge that Julie Doiron has come out with a new solo album. Doiron slapped the bass and sang in the belovedly obscure Canuck bad, Eric’s Trip, in the 90’s. Her newest album, I Can Wonder What You Did with Your Day, was recorded in a studio built in the home of her former bandmate, Rick White. And somewhere in a distant land, Mary Lou Lord cackles with glee that her work still remains relevant to my life, somehow.

Of course, that’s not terribly surprising. My tastes haven’t changed too drastically since the time when I was referring to myself as Mrs. Trent Reznor. I’ve just added several new names to my memory banks, where hundreds of song titles can be stored but birth dates never reside for long. And really, there’s always a place for a musician who puts herself out there in an honest, unaffected way. Doiron’s style – a combination of astute lyrics about relationships and pleasant chord progressions¬† – is pretty timeless. In “Consolation Prize,” the rumbling guitar provides a fitting background for an opening line as direct as “You got the hard consolation prize for having to survive.” Lord herself would surely appreciate a sensibility free from bullshit. Maybe if she was still writing music, she’d find a a clever way to name-check Julie Doiron.

Julie Doiron will play at Holocene on Wednesday, June 17. Avi Buffalo will also play.

  • Julie Doiron ~ I Can Wonder What You Did with Your Day ~ Jagjaguwar

Consolation Prize

1 Response to “I can wonder what happened to all the bands from the 90’s”


  1. 1 Danielle May 16, 2009 at 7:15 AM

    Oh, man, that headline! There’s this member on Oh No They Didn’t who keeps posting where are they now posts. It’s hilarious! Mostly bands/groups from the ’90s who fell off the face of the earth.


Leave a Reply

