Farm-fresh music from the pros

Fancy seeing you here!

Fancy seeing you here!

This weekend involved a mysterious meeting with a gastro-intestinal bug. It’s on the record as a Super Big Ass Not Awesome couple of days, where my agenda consisted of such activities as Laying Pathetically in a Ball of Pain on the Couch and Not Eating. The grand culmination of my efforts came in the form of a trip to the emergency room. You can imagine how much fun that was. From about 3:30 to no earlier than 7:30, three nurses took my blood pressure (maybe it was the situation, but have they started to wrap those suckers extremely tightly, I mean joint-like rigidity?), one nurse took a blood sample that landed on the linoleum floor and in trails on my arm, and a family nurse practitioner determined that a virus had made itself an unwanted guest somewhere in my lower abdominal region. This was important information to ascertain, most certainly, even if it took four hours and no small amount of indignity. Maybe this is more than you need to know, but I hope to never describe poop habits as often as I did that afternoon until I’m the parent of a toddler, if even then.

The good news is that I appear to be on the mend. I even ate a whole chunk of bread generously dipped in creamy carrot-ginger soup for lunch with only a small amount of subsequent intestinal protest. After eating Jello for breakfast and pudding for lunch the day prior, I would call this a fair outcome. Even if the average human being can go without any substantial food for weeks at a time, it is inadvisable for any human being who really enjoys food. On the other hand, once I’m feeling totally healthy, the first cheeseburger I meet is going to meet a swift and sloppy end. And it will probably taste like the best cheeseburger I’ve ever eaten.

You might think the comparison of my first post-GI bug cheeseburger to the new Dinosaur Jr. album is a bit of a stretch. But for a band whose sparing, deliberate output gives a sharp contrast to most other acts with a shiny new set of tunes wrapped up in a jewel case every year, you tend to pay pretty close attention to any product they dole out. The anticipation is spiced by the reports of compromise and, almost unbelievably, unity that inform the band’s new release, Farm. Lou Barlow’s finally got the creative input he’s craved, and J Mascis’ half-lobotimized, half-thunder drone still howls on! Some fans might bemoan the intrusion of Barlow’s poppier touch on the sound of the band, but I think that a Dinosaur Jr. album made palatable by any standard will still crash through you with its volume and wonderfully disorienting tug-of-war between sonic dissonance and flow. “Ocean in the Way” sounds as great as anything from the first half of the 90s. Maybe not Bug or Green Mind, depending on your opinion (for full disclosure, Where You Been is my personal favorite). But even if that cheeseburger isn’t the most epic one in your chosen dwelling, if it’s the first one you’ll sink your teeth into in too long, it’s sure going to taste that way.

Dinosaur Jr. won’t play at the Wonder Ballroom until November 7! Keep reading for ideas on what the hell to do until then.

  • Dinosaur Jr. ~ Farm ~ Jajaguwar

Ocean in the Way

1 Response to “Farm-fresh music from the pros”


  1. 1 Mark June 25, 2009 at 12:57 AM

    Glad you’re back on your feet. I think I had the same thing when I was in high school. I’m glad they didn’t decide to take my appendix out…

    That said, I’m looking forward to the Dinosaur Jr. show.


Leave a Reply

