It may be the last refuge of a scoundrel, but we do love scoundrels

You wish you had a hat like that. I know I do.

You wish you had a hat like that. I know I do.

Many years ago, my dad left the Philippines to stay with family in Hawaii. He had only a rudimentary grasp of the cultures of the country he was headed for. And he was a teenager, which is plenty confusing already.

These days, my father has held a degree in accounting from Chaminade University in Honolulu since the late 70’s, but through some innovation, currently works in real estate. My mom has served the people her entire adult life, first in hospitals and now as a long-time mail carrier. This holiday weekend, my parents are traveling via cruise ship through the British Isles. My mom emailed from Scotland using an iTouch that she poached from my youngest sister that Apple threw in when my sister got a brand new laptop. Needless to say, sis will be using that computer throughout college once she’s done with her senior year of high school. My other sister had a laptop while she was in school as well, but at the time when I went to college, I made it work with my tub-sized desktop.

It’s been a long, remarkable trajectory from my dad’s initial descent onto U.S. soil. But I don’t think my family’s history is all that different from many others.

In spite of how absurd some of our national past-times are, in spite of how much damage the nation’s power and political agendas have done to people both inside and outside its borders, we’re still pretty damn lucky to live in the United States. Happy Independence Day, everyone.

  • Keb’ Mo’ ~ Big Wide Grin ~ Sony Wonder

America the Beautiful

1 Response to “It may be the last refuge of a scoundrel, but we do love scoundrels”


  1. 1 Danielle July 9, 2009 at 4:13 PM

    Here, here!!

    ps–I want a Mac. Boo-hoo.


Leave a Reply

